The Reason Your Approach To Staying Sober Isn’t Working

Kay Allison
4 min readFeb 28, 2022

Hint: Willpower won’t work.

Are you barely hanging on?

Do you relate to my story?

I had lots of rules about drinking. Only drink wine. Never have wine in the house. Follow each glass of wine with a glass of water. Drink more juice. Avoid brown liquor. Drink on a full stomach. Only have 3.

What do all these rules have in common?

They didn’t work.

Here’s why.

My body reacts differently to alcohol than most people’s bodies do.

When I have the first sip (actually, when I hear the bottle open), all I want is more. There is no off-switch. I fly over the land of the pleasantly buzzed so fast I don’t have time to wave.

Also, weirdly, even though I tell myself “Never again,” never again turns into yet again in some mysterious process that I can’t untangle.

It was shocking to me to find out that most people don’t experience this.

There were times that I could make myself stop after 2 or 3. And I used those rare experiences as “proof” I didn’t have a problem.

If your body reacts like mine does, rules aren’t going to help. And moderation is an illusion.

--

--